In Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious charge. Drivers convicted of DWI face mandatory fines and jail terms, as well as revocation of their license. Even first time offenders are subject to state mandated mandatory minimum sentencing.
While DWI charges in Texas may start out as misdemeanors, under certain circumstances violators may face more serious felony DWI charges. If you were pulled over and charged with DWI in Texas, The Law Office of Andrew J. Williams strongly encourages you to seek the legal counsel of a qualified and dedicated Texas DWI attorney.
Our DWI law firm has years of experience handling these types of cases and advocate strongly for the rights of the accused. Hiring the right attorney may mean the difference between being charged with misdemeanor or felony DWI in Texas. Please contact The Law Office of Andrew J. Williams if you have questions about your case.
Texas DWI felony laws
In Texas, an individual’s first DWI conviction is a Class B misdemeanor. First time DWI offenders are subject to minimum jail time of three days but as high as six months and up to a $2,000 fine. Violators may have their license suspended for up to two years and incur thousands of dolls in annual fines to keep their license.
A second DWI conviction may result in a Class A misdemeanor. As one would expect, the fines and jail time are even more steep for a second offense. Second time DWI offenders can expect minimum jail time of one month and a maximum of one year. Fines may double to a maximum of $4,000 and annual surcharges of up to $2,000 may be incurred as well.
A third DWI conviction in Texas results in a Third Degree Felony. Felonies are serious convictions and may result in being unable to pass background checks for work and forfeiture of voting rights. Penalties for Third Degree Felonies include minimum jail time of two years and a maximum of 10 years. Fines skyrocket to up to $10,000.
Intoxication assault Texas
In Texas, drunk drivers who cause serious bodily harm to others may be convicted of intoxication assault. Intoxication assault in Texas is a Third Degree Felony and carries all the same penalties as a third DWI conviction. Violators may also be subject to a minimum of 160 hours of community service.
DWI with children in the car
Texas law states a person may be charged with a state jail felony. Penalties for state jail penalties in Texas carry a minimum sentence of 180 days and a maximum of two years. Violators may also be subject to fines of up to $10,000.
Kingwood, Texas DWI lawyers
Andrew J. Williams is a state certified trial lawyer with over 15 years of experience defending the rights of people accused of DWI. The penalties for felony DWI convictions are still and prosecutors and police will often refrain from appearing soft on crimes like these. It is strongly recommended that individuals facing felony DWI convictions seek the experienced and qualified legal counsel of a Texas DWI attorney such as Andrew J. Williams. Contact our law firm for a consultation about your case.