Like all states, Texas requires drivers to have a valid driver’s license when operating a motor vehicle. Drivers who are pulled over and cannot produce a license can face tough penalties, such as fines, license suspension, and in some cases even jail time.
Since the consequence of driving without a license is so harsh, it’s simply not worth the risk. However, if you are caught operating a vehicle without a license or with a suspended or revoked license, it’s recommended you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in your area for representation.
Punishments for driving without a license
It’s important to understand that if you don’t have a license, it makes no difference how well you drive. Even if you are driving safely and obeying the speed limit, if an officer catches you without a valid driver’s license in Texas you will be punished.
Listed below are the penalties for driving without a license in Texas:
- First offense. You will be charged with a misdemeanor and issued a fine up to $200.
- Second offense. If you are caught a second time within a year of your first offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and receive a fine ranging from $25 -$200.
- Third offense. If it is your third offense within a year of the first offense, you can receive up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $500.
- Accidents. If you’re driving without a license and get into an accident, you’ll face a Class A misdemeanor charge, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine. You may also be responsible for paying the medical expenses of any injured persons and the cost of damaged vehicles.
Driving with a suspended or revoked license is also illegal, and if you’re pulled over you can be punished with fines, a further suspension of your license, and in some instances, jail time. First-time offenses are considered class C misdemeanors and punishable by up to $500 in fines and license suspension, while second-time offenses are Class B misdemeanors, which can carry up to $2,000 in fines and up to six months in jail.
Not only can you face heavy fines for driving without a license or a suspended or revoked license, if you are pulled over and nobody in the car has a valid driver’s license, your car will be impounded and you will be taken to jail.
Knowledgeable Texas criminal defense attorneys
If you or a loved one are facing charges for driving without a license or with a suspended or revoked license, the Law Office of Andrew Williams can help you navigate the legal system and avoid a conviction. We have over 20 years of experience working exclusively in criminal law, and we are proud of the work we’ve done for our clients in Texas. For a free consultation, give us a ring at 281-358-9111 or contact us online.