Could You Be The Victim of a Mandatory Minimum?

Mandatory minimum sentences are guidelines courts must follow when handing down punishment in criminal cases. In Texas, courts must sentence criminal offenders to legally mandated sentences convicted of felony charges. The minimum amount of jail time depends on the severity of the crime and felony classification.

There are five different categories of felonies in Texas: capital felonies, first degree felonies, second degree felonies, third degree felonies, and state jail felonies. If you are charged with a felony in Texas, you will face mandatory prison terms if convicted. Courts may also impose hefty fines of up to $10,000.

Do not risk your freedom if you or a loved one face felony charges. Maximize your opportunity to clear your name and avoid jail time, speak to an attorney of The Law Office of Andrew J. Williams. Our criminal defense attorneys have the experience necessary to help negotiate with prosecutors and try to get your charges or sentenced reduced.

Mandatory minimum sentences for Texas felony convictions

In Texas, capital felonies are the most serious. Capital felonies are charges like murder. The mandatory minimum sentence for conviction of a capital felony is life in prison without the possibility of parole. The alternative sentence is the death penalty which Texas issues more than any other state.

First degree felonies carry minimum jail time of five years in prison. Maximum jail time for first degree felony conviction is life in prison. Offenders may also be forced to pay a fine of no more than $10,000.

Second degree felony convictions carry a minimum two-year jail term but may be as high as 20 years. Defendants convicted of a second degree felony may also be subject to a maximum $10,000 fine.

Third degree felonies carry a two-year mandatory minimum sentence. Courts may hand down sentences as high as 10 years for third degree felony convictions in Texas and include a fine as high as $10,000.

State jail felonies are charges prosecutors may bring against defendants under certain circumstances. Crimes which may result in a state jail felony conviction include crimes committed using a firearm or if the defendant was previously convicted of a felony. The mandatory minimum sentence for state jail felonies in Texas is 180 days.

How can I avoid mandatory minimum jail sentences in Texas?

The average criminal conviction rate in Texas is roughly 82 percent. If you are facing felony charges in Texas, hiring an experienced attorney can help you avoid lengthy jail time and expensive fines. An attorney may be able to help get your charges reduced to crimes which do not carry mandatory minimum sentences.

The Law Office of Andrew Williams serves clients in Kingwood, Houston, the Woodlands, and throughout the state of Texas. Andrew J. Williams has over 20 years of experience defending the rights of his clients, handling over 500 cases in his career. Certified by the Texas State Board in Criminal Defense, Andrew J. Williams will work hard to help you avoid jail time and mandatory minimum sentences. Contact us about your case.

Andrew Williams, an experienced attorney who can challenge evidence in a DWI case
About the Author: Andrew Williams
I am a criminal defense lawyer with over 20 years experience defending people accused of wrongdoing. I am board certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Only ten percent of attorneys in Texas are board certified in their respective field. I practice criminal law exclusively in both state and federal court including appeals of criminal cases.