Thousands of people are injured or killed every year in America because of drunk drivers.
That’s why the state of Texas has serious penalties for those caught driving while intoxicated.
Being arrested for DWI in Texas means you’ll face heavy fines, the potential loss of your license, and in some instances, you can be sentenced to serve jail time.
While it’s best to consult an experienced DWI attorney in Kingwood for more detailed information, it can be helpful to have a general idea of what will take place during a DWI case in Texas.
Here is a list of the typical DWI case process in Texas:
The arrest.A person is guilty of a DWI in Texas if they are caught operating a motor vehicle in public with a blood/alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater. If you are pulled over and blow a BAC above 0.08%, you will likely be arrested.
Booking. Back at the police station, officers will record your personal information and run your record for prior arrests or warrants. They will also take your fingerprints, “mug shots,” and search and seize your personal property.
Bail. You will likely stay in jail until your bail is paid. If you don’t have the resources to pay, a bail bondsman may be able to help.
Arraignment. This is your first appearance at court, at which point you will have to plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest. Most DWI cases result in guilty pleas.
Plea bargain. This is when your lawyer and the prosecutor try to work out a resolution outside of the courts. Oftentimes charges are reduced in exchange for a guilty or no contest plea. If your lawyer and the prosecutor reach a resolution, your case will not go to trial and time and money will be saved.
Trial. If a plea bargain cannot be reached or you wish to plead not guilty then a trial by jury will take place. At trial, your attorney will fight on your behalf to convince the jury that you are not guilty of the charges brought before you.
Sentencing. If you are convicted of a first offense DWI in Texas, you will be sentenced with up $2,000 in fines, a suspension of your license up to two years, and jail time between 3 and 180 days. You will also have to attend a DWI education program, and could be charged up to $2,000 per year for 3 years in order to keep your driver’s license.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving while intoxicated in Texas, it is important to have a reliable DWI attorney on your side.
The attorney Andrew Williams is experienced dealing with DWI cases and will fight on your behalf.
Contact the Law Offices of Andrew Williams online or call 281-358-9111 to schedule your free initial consultation with an experienced DWI attorney.
About the Author: Andrew Williams I am a criminal defense lawyer with over 20 years experience defending people accused of wrongdoing. I am board certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Only ten percent of attorneys in Texas are board certified in their respective field. I practice criminal law exclusively in both state and federal court including appeals of criminal cases.