If you are caught driving without a driver’s license in Texas, the penalties can range from mild to severe, depending on the circumstances of the case. What can exacerbate the situation even more is if the offense takes place in conjunction with a DWI arrest.
DWI penalties in Texas are already very harsh, even for first time offenders, and adding an additional criminal charge may only serve to increase jail time for both offense. If you were arrested for DWI without a license in Texas, contact our office for a consultation about your case.
Can I Go To Jail For Driving Without A License?
In Texas, operating a vehicle without a driver’s license is a relatively minor offense compared to driving on a suspended license or DWI. However, the penalties become more strict for subsequent offenses.
● First time offense – Fine of no more than $200,
● Second offense within one year of first offense – Fine between $25 and $200
● Third offense within one year of second offense – Fine of up to $500, minimum jail time 72 hours, maximum of 6 months
Suspects arrests for DWI without a driver’s license can probably expect the maximum penalty allowed for the latter charge.
What Are The Penalties For Driving With a Suspended License?
Operating a motor vehicle on a suspended or revoked driver’s license is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas, a crime which carries a maximum fine of $500. A second offense for driving on a suspended license or if the current suspension is for DWI is a Class B misdemeanor which can carry a jail sentence anywhere from 6-days to 180-days in jail and a maximum $2,000 fine.
In addition to possible fines and jail times, offenders may have to pay a $250 reinstatement fee every year for three years after the conviction. Drivers arrested for DWI on a suspended license can expect to pay this restitution fee along along with some jail time if convicted of both crimes.
Other factors that may influence the sentencing of individuals arrested for DWI on a suspended license include prior criminal history, whether the suspension was for another DWI, and how much remorse the offender shows. Judges and prosecutors do not take motor vehicle crimes involving alcohol lightly and may interpret an individual’s unwillingness to adhere to his or her license suspension as a sign rehabilitative measures may not work.
Contact An Experienced Houston DWI Defense Attorney
If you were arrested for DWI on a suspended license or without a driver’s license, contact the Law Office of Andrew J. Williams for a free consultation about your case. With over 20 years of experience DUI Defense Attorney Andrew Williams regularly serves clients facing DWI throughout Harris County, Montgomery County, Liberty County, and San Jacinto County.